Swedish PM Stefan Löfven unveils new cabinet

Sweden’s Social Democrat leader and Prime Minister Stefan Löfven (center) poses with his new government outside the Swedish parliament Riksdagen on January 21, 2019 in Stockholm. (Jessica Gow/AFP/Getty Images)
Prime Minister Stefan Löfven has unveiled his cabinet for his new government, after lawmakers re-elected the Social Democrat leader on Friday, following months of political limbo.

Standing before Parliament this morning, Löfven delivered his so-called “Statement of Government Policy”. It is a wide-ranging address where he lays out the ambitions and challenges his government will face over the next few years.

To talk about what the new government and ministers means, we spoke to Radio Sweden’s Loukas Christodoulou.

Full list of ministers, from Social Democrat (S) and Green (G) parties.

Prime minister’s office
Stefan Löfven (S) – Prime Minister

Hans Dahlgren (S) – EU-minister

Morgan Johansson (S) – Justice minister, plus migration issues

Mikael Damberg (S) – Home affairs minister

Foreign affairs
Margot Wallström (S) – Foreign minister

Peter Eriksson (G) – Aid minister

Ann Linde (S) – Trade minister, plus Nordic region

Labour market 
Ylva Johansson (S) – Labour market minister

Åsa Lindhagen (G) – Equality minister

Tomas Eneroth (S) – Infrastructure minister

Anders Ygeman (S) – Energy and digitalisation minister

Magdalena Andersson (S) – Finance minister

Per Bolund (G) – Vice-finance minister and Housing minister

Ardalan Shekarabi (S) – Consumer affairs minister

Peter Hultqvist (S) – Defence minister

Amanda Lind (G) – Culture and democracy minister, plus youth and sports issues

Isabella Lövin (G) – Environment minister and deputy prime minister

Ibrahim Baylan (S) – Business minister

Jennie Nilsson (S) – Rural affairs minister

Social support
Lena Hallengren (S) – Social support minister

Annika Strandhäll (S) – Social insurance minister

Anna Ekström (S) – Education minister

Matilda Ernkrans (S) – Minister for higher education and research

Related stories from around the North:

Canada: Denes and Métis sign self-governance agreement in principle for Sahtu region, CBC News

Finland: Finnish president makes state visit to China, Yle News

Sweden: Social Democrats lose Arctic stronghold over healthcare in Sweden’s regional elections, Radio Sweden

United States: In Congress, Alaskans are split over shutdown, Alaska Public Media

Radio Sweden

For more news from Sweden visit Radio Sweden.

Do you want to report an error or a typo? Click here!

Leave a Reply

Note: By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that Radio Canada International has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Radio Canada International does not endorse any of the views posted. Your comments will be pre-moderated and published if they meet netiquette guidelines.
Netiquette »

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *