Finland welcomes fully-vaccinated travellers, but Sputnik V isn’t valid

Border to Finnish Lapland over the Torne valley. (Thomas Nilsen/The Independent Barents Observer)

From July 26 there are now longer any internal border controls for traffic into Finland from EU- and Schengen countries, and everyone that have received a full course of an approved COVID-19 vaccine can enter.

Based on a Government decision, the Finnish Border Guard says it has discontinued controls at the borders. However, health authorities will check all persons arriving to the country. For free travel, you must provide a certificate of having received a complete vaccination series of a valid COVID-19 vaccine, with the last dose injected at least 14 days prior to arrival.

Approved vaccines, according to the Finnish institute for health and welfare includes:

  • Comirnaty (Pfizer-BionTech)
  • Spikevax (previously Moderna)
  • Vaxzevria (previously AstraZeneca)
  • Janssen (Johnson&Johnson)
  • BIBP/Sinopharm
  • CoronaVac
Russia’s four vaccines not on approved list

None of Russia’s four vaccines are on the approved list, meaning that entry restrictions still apply to everyone vaccinated with Sputnik V, Sputnik Light, EpiVacCorona or CoviVac. Russia is currently facing its third coronavirus wave with more than 20,000 new infections and over 700 deaths every day for the last few weeks.

For citizens and residents of the European Union and Schengen countries (like Norway and Iceland) that are not fully vaccinated, but can provide a proof of recovery from COVID-19 less that six months prior to entering Finland, are welcomed without restrictions.

No certificate or COVID-19 tests are required for persons coming from the Norwegian municipalities of Sør-Varanger, Nesseby, Tana, Kautokeino, Karasjok, Kåfjord, Nordreisa or Storfjord. All these municipalities are directly bordering Finnish Lapland in the north.

A number of countries are currently also green-listed for entry to Finland: Australia, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, China, Macao, Poland, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Taiwan and New Zealand.

Related stories from around the North: 

CanadaOutbreak declared over in Arctic Canadian city of Iqaluit, says chief public health officer, CBC News

Greenland: Greenland relaxes vaccination requirement for use of public transportation, Eye on the Arctic

Iceland: Iceland to require COVID-19 testing for vaccinated travellers over Delta variant concerns, Eye on the Arctic

Sweden: Sweden’s regions go for different strategies when vaccinating those under 18, Radio Sweden

Thomas Nilsen, The Independent Barents Observer

For more news from the Barents region visit The Independent Barents Observer.

Do you want to report an error or a typo? Click here!

Leave a Reply

Note: By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that Radio Canada International has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Radio Canada International does not endorse any of the views posted. Your comments will be pre-moderated and published if they meet netiquette guidelines.
Netiquette »

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *