Majority of survey respondents vote to end seasonal time change in N.W.T.

The sun rises in Inuvik, N.W.T., in this file photo from 2016. Many people in the N.W.T. want to stop seasonal time changes. (David Thurton/CBC)

87 per cent of 3,545 respondents prefer a permanent time standard

The Northwest Territories is considering whether to end seasonal time changes after a survey suggested there’s interest in the move.

More than 87 per cent of 3,545 respondents said they are in favour of adopting a permanent time standard in the territory.

Of those, more than half said they preferred mountain daylight time. That would mean the territory would not turn its clocks back an hour to mountain standard time on the first Sunday in November.

Many in favour of that option said they want more sunlight hours during the day. Some also highlighted that extra sunlight in the evening would be beneficial for trapping, snowshoeing and after-school sports.

Several others said they would like to see an end to time changes regardless of which permanent time standard is chosen.

Some people, however, shared concerns about the territory having a different time standard than Alberta and how that could affect emergency management and flights.

Strong response rate

The territory says the time-change survey has had the greatest number of people weighing in, followed by a 2017 survey on cannabis legalization that garnered roughly 1,100 responses.

“The response to the engagement on seasonal time change speaks to the importance of this issue for N.W.T. residents,” Justice Minister R.J. Simpson said in a statement.

The Northwest Territories government says the results will help inform the executive council’s decision, but nothing would happen immediately if it decided to move to a permanent time.

It said that would require a “lengthy and complex process,” including an implementation plan, significant transition period and software updates.

The territory is currently in the mountain time zone along with Alberta, parts of British Columbia and the Kitikmeot region of Nunavut.

Yukon, Saskatchewan and parts of Nunavut and Quebec have ended seasonal time changes.

Voters in Alberta rejected a move to a permanent time standard in a 2021 referendum.

Emily Blake, CBC News

For more news from Canada visit CBC News.

Do you want to report an error or a typo? Click here!

Leave a Reply

Note: By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that Radio Canada International has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Radio Canada International does not endorse any of the views posted. Your comments will be pre-moderated and published if they meet netiquette guidelines.
Netiquette »

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *