MLAs make their pitches to be N.W.T.’s next premier

The N.W.T. Legislative Assembly building in Yellowknife, on Oct. 27, 2023. MLAs will gather there on Thursday morning to listen to those who want to run for premier. (Travis Burke/CBC)

Starting at 9 a.m. on Thursday, MLAs vying for the territory’s top job will each deliver a 20-minute speech.

N.W.T. MLAs who want the top job in the territory are making their pitches to their colleagues on Thursday morning.

The candidates for premier will each have 20 minutes to deliver a speech about why they deserve the job.

CBC News reached out to each MLA to ask if they intend on running for premier, on election night and in the days that followed the election.

Only R.J. Simpson, MLA for Hay River North, definitively said yes, while only Caitlin Cleveland, MLA for Kam Lake, definitively said no. Cabin Radio has since reported that Shane Thompson said he will run for premier.

N.W.T. residents won’t know who their next premier will be until Dec. 7, after MLAs cast their secret ballots. MLAs will also vote for the Speaker and cabinet on that day.

CBC’s Natalie Pressman is at the N.W.T. Legislative Assembly on Thursday morning and will be providing live updates on what the candidates for premier are saying.

Relate stories from around the North :

Canada : N.W.T. voters go to polls today in territorial election, CBC News

Finland : Truth & Reconciliation Commission in Finland—Election of new commissioners postponed, Eye on the Arctic

CBC News

For more news from Canada visit CBC News.

Do you want to report an error or a typo? Click here!

Leave a Reply

Note: By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that Radio Canada International has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Radio Canada International does not endorse any of the views posted. Your comments will be pre-moderated and published if they meet netiquette guidelines.
Netiquette »

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *